Tofu Scramble

Standard

Good morning everyone!

It’s Friday! To celebrate, I actually COOKED this morning! Woohoo!

In my pre-vegan days, eggs always just creeped me out. They were either runny or spongy – sometimes even pushing the line to plastic. And I could never really ditch feeling just a little sketched out that I was essentially eating an amniotic sac.

Um, ew.

Anyway. I’m vegan now. Tofu to the rescue! I decided to throw some ingredients together this morning to create my own make-shift VEGAN version of scrambled eggs. The tofu scramble I made this morning has more protein, less fat, zip cholesterol, and is waaaay farther from plastic than the usual two-egg scramble. And it’s just flat-out delicious 🙂


Tofu Scramble Recipe

Ingredients

3 oz extra-firm, high-protein tofu (I got mine from Trader Joe’s. Of course. ;))

1/4 c oats

2 Tb nutritional yeast

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

~ 1/3 c water (or plant milk)

Directions

Super simple, y’all. Just crumble your tofu into a bowl – you can attack it with a fork if your morning is in need of some more fun 🙂 – pour your EVOO on top, add in the nooch, oats, and water, and then stir!

Next, pour your mixture into a frying pan (or a sauce pan, if you live in a college dorm and none of the frying pans are clean!) and cook on medium to medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes. Once some of the water has cooked off and the mixture’s thickened, it’s done!

I added in two dashes of pepper and a blink’s worth of salt (that’s a very very very small dash, y’all). You could also add a dash of cumin and ketchup/hot sauce to taste. Let me tell you, looking through communal dorm fridges for one of those last two was fun. There was definitely some impromptu fridge cleaning.

Hope you all enjoy a healthy start to your morning!

One response »

  1. Haha eggs totally are an amniotic sac….ewwwwww. And I’ve still never gotten around to making a tofu scramble, I gotta get on that!

Leave a Reply

