Greens Galore

Standard

Happy Monday everyone!

An unofficial resolution I’ve made for this year is to eat more vegetables and less sugar. It’s not that my sugar intake was atrociously high before; I just know that being intentional about building my meals and snacks out of real, whole foods instead of defecting to quick-fix granola bars will keep my body happier in the long run. Though of course that’s not to say I won’t occasionally opt for the soy raspberry mocha (thank you Red Door cafe!) or vegan snickerdoodle. 😉

A few days ago I bought a big ol’ bag of a blogger favorite: kale! To put it bluntly, kale has SO MANY VITAMINS. It’s ridiculously versatile for something green and leafy, too. Stir-fry it, stick some dressing on it, turn it into a chip… kale is not your average rabbit food.

So here’s what I’ve done with it so far:

Green and Savory Raspberry Vinaigrette Saute

Hello lunch! 🙂 I mixed about 1/3 c of Trader Joe’s Raspberry Vinaigrette with about 1 Tb of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (like soy sauce but with waaaay less sodium) and threw it in a sauce pan with 1.5 or so cups of kale along with 5 halved, precooked brussels sprouts.

Let sizzle:

Once the kale has turned a darkened green and looks less perky, the dish is ready to go!

Homemade Kale Chips

Okay, so this was my first attempt EVER at making kale chips. Internet perusing research basically boiled down to toss your kale in whatever seasoning you’re going for plus something to make it stick and then toast it in the oven around 300 degrees Fahrenheit for 7-10 minutes – essentially, until your kale is crispy but not burnt. I’d air on the side of less heat and longer time. Checking your kale every so often using the very scientific “prodding test” works pretty well 😉

For my kale chips, I used a simple blend of lemon juice and nutritional yeast.

Welcome to the frightening land known as the communal college kitchen.

To make the kale chips, I squeezed half a lemon into the bowl, tossed a handful of kale around in it, and laid out the kale fairly dispersedly on an ungreased cooking sheet.

Next, I sprinkled about a tablespoon of nutritional yeast over the kale.

Popped the kale in the oven for 7 minutes, and then it was done!

The lemon is definitely the predominant taste. I’ll probably use olive oil or something less acidic the next time.

Do you have any favorite kale recipes?


Leave a Reply

